Autumn Craft and books

DSC02207___cfg copy

Do you ever divide your books according to seasons? For example, I believe that some American authors are more suitable for hot, sunny days (Hemingway, Fante, Steinbeck, Faulkner…) while English authors (Forster, Waugh, and James because I do put James among British writers) are often suitable for gloomy days and a cup of tea. But not Dickens: Dickens is, in fact, a writer for winter, like the majority of Russians (Tolstoj, Dostoevskij, Cechov, Bulgakov).

So now that Autumn is here, I will pull out all those books that I did not feel to read without some cold, a blanket over my knees, a cat, a cup of tea.

DSC02225_cfg

I’m also wearing warm colors. Well, me and the house. Deep red, warm brown, orange, yellow.

DSC02223_cfg

Do you like the candles? They were an old present from a friend, not so charming, with sad labels. I covered them with some heavy paper, and then again with an elegant, calligraphy wrapping paper. A little twine or raffia bow, and here you are two refined, tasteful candles for the fall.

DSC02217_

I then used orange and ribbed paper for a couple of paper flowers, and the calligraphy paper for the leaves.

DSC02221_

So, which are my “cold season” books this year? Of course Dickens, Tolstoj and Dostoevskij. I’m thinking of War and Peace, Bleak House, maybe some Latin philosophers, Franzen and a biography. Oh, and I am also reading this one.

Leave a Reply

